Congratulations to the Blue-Ribbon Winners

The U.S. Department of Education has announced the 2009 Blue Ribbon schools. According to a press release from the department, “The Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private schools based on one of two criteria: 1) Schools whose students, regardless of background, achieve in the top 10 percent of their state on state tests or in the case of private schools in the top 10 percent of the nation on nationally-normed tests; and 2) Schools with at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds that demonstrate dramatic improvement of student performance to high levels on state tests or nationally-normed tests.”

Five schools in Kansas made the list. They are:

Rock Creek Junior/Senior High School (USD 323, St. George), in the category “Schools in the top 10% with less than 40% of students from disadvantaged backgrounds.”

The following schools earned the distinction of being in the top 10% of schools in the state with at least 40% of students from disadvantaged backgrounds:

Broken Arrow Elementary, Lawrence

Oakley Elementary, Oakley

Phillipsburg Elementary, Phillipsburg

Robinson Elementary, Augusta

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
%d bloggers like this: